Report Abuse
To report abuse, please call 1.800.752.6200 (KY) or 1.800.800.5556 (IN).


Meet Ambassador Celia Bourgetel

May 1, 2017

This is one in a series of question and answer sessions with Family & Children’s Place Ambassadors, young business and community leaders helping build support for and awareness of the agency and its work.

Question: Why did you get involved as an Ambassador with Family & Children’s Place?
Answer: I’ve been lucky enough to be surrounded with great mentors that helped me through my personal as well as professional development. I see the Ambassador program as an opportunity to give back and make a positive impact in the community and people’s lives.

Q: What’s your day job?
A: I am a Personal Banker. I help my customers through financially tough times, as well as help them with their credit building/repair, lending, and banking needs.

Q: What person do you consider your greatest influencer in terms of your own personal values?
A: My dad was probably the greatest influencer in my life. He raised my brother, sister, and me in a really strict manner while still encouraging us to be creative and think different. He taught me that hard work always pays off and always to help people in needs.

Q: What do you hope to achieve by 50?
A: There is a lot that I hope to have done! For one, I hope to have made a positive impact in someone’s life. I hope that my friends, family, and people in general see me as a trusted mentor that they can come talk to. I hope to be surrounded by my family and be happy with my career.

Q: What’s your favorite local restaurant, and why do you love it?
A: I love Con Huevos! They have great Mexican breakfast food and staff is always really welcoming. They also give back to the community, which is a really important thing to me.

Q: What does a perfect day look like to you?
A: Sunny outside, early morning breakfast on the patio with my family, spending the day at the museum, park, or trying a new activity.

Q: What teacher in school made the most impact on you and why?
A: I had a middle school teacher that would always take the time to sit down and listen to me if I needed to talk to her. She would always be supportive and encouraging.

Q: What accomplishment are you most proud of so far in your life?
A: Coming to the United States not knowing anything about this country, the language, the culture. Being able to grow personally and professionally in a way that I would have never thought possible. I am really thankful to be here.

Q: What is your best childhood memory?
A: My dad decided that a snowy day would be the best time to teach me how to ride a bicycle. I fell a lot, but I had so much fun, and it’s by far my favorite childhood memory!

Q: When you were little, what did you want to be?
A: I wanted to be a paleontologist. I was so intrigued by fossils and would find some on the trails around our house back home.

Q: If you could have lunch with one person (alive or dead) that you look up to, who would it be and why?
A: My dad, definitely! He passed away when I was 16. I was still a teenager trying to figure out who I was, what I wanted to do at school, etc. Now that I am a young adult, I’d love to have conversations with him, be able to ask him for advice and hear his point of view on some things in life.

Q: What is your favorite hobby (outside of Family & Children’s Place of course!)?
A: I am a social butterfly! I love meeting new people, getting to know them. Any social event will make me happy. I enjoy hiking, going to the park, cooking, and doing home improvements.